The Right Way to Steal a Recipe…

Don’t you hate it when people post on a recipe site what they did to change a recipe before they even try it out the right way first? Yeah, so do I.

Except when I do it.

I needed a dressing recipe for a tossed salad. Bottled dressing is full of things I’d prefer don’t enter my mouth: fake ingredients, preservatives, soybean oil… yuck! Making it at home takes only a few minutes, and I can use my homemade yogurt.

So I found a recipe online for a yogurt dressing. Right off the bat I knew I had to change it. Low-fat yogurt? Why? Why torture yourself eating that sour mess to save very few calories and fat? You need fat. Your hair will fall out if you don’t get enough. Do you want that to happen?

I didn’t think so.

Parsley. Again, why? That had to go too. Even if I kept it on hand, which I don’t because it has no reason to exist, it doesn’t really add much of anything to the flavor. Is it in there to help with your breath after eating the green onions? Because that’s a lost cause.

I kept everything else the same except I added two teaspoons of lemon juice to brighten it. Whatever that means. Mary Hunt suggested adding lemon to foods to brighten them at her blog on citrus: http://www.everydaycheapskate.com/food-and-recipes/stop-throwing-away-citrus/

Everything could stand a little brightening I guess, so I did.

It’s delicious. And since it’s basically yogurt instead of some science experiment in a bottle you can pour it over anything and everything. None of this measuring out a 2-tablepsoon serving. You can also use it as a dip for whatever you’re serving that’s dry or boring.

Not that you cook that way.

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups yogurt
1 Tablespoon mayonnaise
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/4 cup finely chopped green onion
2 teaspoons pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Stir together. Refrigerate an hour before serving.

But whatever you do, don’t change the recipe without trying it this way first. Because that’s just wrong.

salad

 

Leave a Reply

