I’m still going…

So a few weeks ago I started running for the first time in my life since high school P.E. ended, and I didn’t have to do more than stroll. This is the one of my ongoing goals:  write, get organized, get fit.

Notice I did not say get thin. The older I get the more I realize that it’s the little things in life that matter, like granny wings, actual abs, and being able to outrun volcanic eruptions.

Okay, maybe that last one won’t happen, and any abs are buried beneath a little plump, but I’ve often flirted with the idea that my body might need to move faster than something that’s chasing it. Spiders (yes, they chase me), purse snatchers, and snakes. Of course, technically those last two are the same, and I’d be the one chasing the purse snatcher.

So I plunged right in to the Couch2-5k program. After two very successful weeks in “week 1,” which entailed running a total of 8 minutes during the 20 -minute workout (plus a 5-minute warm-up and the same to cool down), I’ve moved on to “week 2.” Nine minutes of running during the 20-minutes and I’m still going strong. I plan on spending three weeks in “week 2.” Slow, yes, but what’s the hurry? I’m building a runner’s body here.

Well, okay, so I’m not actually running, and perhaps you could walk faster than my jog, but the important thing is to keep moving. Eventually my pace will pick up. Maybe then I’ll finally be able to outrun those spiders.

 

Leave a Reply

